Alittle About Me 

 


Starting at the age of 18, fresh out of high school, I decided to spread my wings and venture out into the adult world of being (mostly) self-reliant. I was your typical teenage girl. I tested the waters of adulthood by moving in with my boyfriend at his dad’s house for a year, where I began to learn the ropes on how to balance a budget. I was working full time at Dunkin Donuts at this time. I had just started my first semester of college that same year.

My life went from zero to 60 in a matter of months. It was all very exciting and terrifying at the same time. I was learning to juggle my full-time job with my four college classes I had each week. I survived plenty of late nights of studying for exams, followed by a full shift of work that afternoon. (I have since graduated with my associate’s degree, and am working towards becoming a registered nurse.)

 

This was the same year I applied for my first credit card. I was so afraid to use it at first, as I should have been. I always made sure to pay it down each week, as to not have a balance at the end of the month. I also used this time of having minimal bills to pay, to build up my savings account. I was extremely frugal and was able to put aside a good cushion of money within my first year or so of working and living on my own.
At 19 years old, my parents gave me an amazing offer. They offered to help me buy a house of my own! I’m an only child, so my parents have always done whatever they can to help me get ahead in life. Long story, short. We found a great starter home, went through the long, grueling process of buying the house, and all of the preliminary work that goes with it. How I, and my boyfriend were able to manage this house at such a young age, is a story for another day.

Fast forward to present day. I’m 22 years old now. I’ve had my own home for just about 3 years now. So far all of my attempts to get into the nursing school have ended up with me being waitlisted. My first attempt was for a local state college that is close to my home. I met (more like exceeded) all requirements needed to be accepted. But, the universe had other plans for me at the time I suppose, because I was put on the wait list for the program. I then decided to submit an application to a health science college in North Carolina. There too I was waitlisted, but that’s okay. Still not giving up on my dream of becoming an RN.

In the meantime, my focus is to spruce up my house with renovations, upgrades, and more. The plan is to make my house sale ready in the next one to two years. Any spare time in between all of these adventures is well spent on my crafts and hobbies. All of which I plan to share with you all on here as I go.

Leave a Reply

