How I’ve Survived college…So Far 

At times, being a full-time college student feels like a constant uphill battle. The way I have been able to push through it for the past three years is by reminding myself that this struggle will not last forever. That being said, I am here to tell you how I’ve managed to muddle through and get as far as I have so far and hopefully share some insightful wisdom.

I have been able to finish one degree so far. After 3 years of three to four classes per semester, on top of working a full-time job the five other days of the week, getting my diploma felt like a sweet victory. I have yet to reach my ultimate goal of being a Registered Nurse, but I am one large step closer to that goal. I have completed all of my prerequisites, that way once I am in a nursing program each semester will be “easy sailing”, in theory. If what they say about nursing school is true (that it is the toughest two years of a person’s educational career), I feel thoroughly prepared. Three words. Coffee and exercise. These, along with high amounts of self-motivation, are what kept me going when the assignments seemed never ending and the clock struck midnight on a school night, and my work wasn’t even half way finished.

Three words. “Coffee and exercise”. These, along with high amounts of self-motivation, are what kept me going when the assignments seemed never ending and the clock struck midnight on a school night, and my work wasn’t even half way finished.
Most coffee shops offer a wide variety of coffee flavors and blends, most of which are chock full of sugar and fatty creamer. At the time you need that caffeine and sugar rush to help you get through the essays and studying that you plan to tackle that day. Then you will hit that midday caffeine crash with loads of school work left to be done. This is when you should hit the gym. Go down, get in a good 30-40 minutes of some cardio, then a decent amount of weight training to wrap up your gym session. Not only will you be wide awake and ready to dive back into your work, but you will also have burned off all of those calories you had consumed earlier that day in your delicious coffee. I personally would not have survived my first three years of college without those two key components. My ride on the college express is far from over, so stay tuned for more tips and tricks.

Leave a Reply

